Early years foundation stage

We are proud of our caring and nurturing environment where we have a strong emphasis on making learning fun. 

Children will follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which sets the standards for the learning, development and care of your children from birth to five years old.

Learning and development

We use the areas of learning and development when we are observing, assessing and planning for your child’s individual needs. The areas of learning and development ensure that we are constantly challenging your child and helping them to develop and succeed. Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and developments.

Image result for prime areas of learning

Effective learning

Staff are sensitive to the needs of the children and help them catch up if required. Children make good progress in relation to their individual starting points. They are well prepared for the next stages of their learning, including starting school” – OFSTED June 2018


 We look at how your child learns through independent learning. This is covered under three different areas

Image result for characteristics of effective learning

Physical development

It involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, social and emotional development

We help children to develop a positive sense of themselves and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.